Growing Pains

People are always reminding me to enjoy these years with the little ones, as time goes so fast. It’s one of those things that I know in my head but don’t always remember daily. It’s amazing how often someone reminds me of that at the exact moment I need to hear those words! (I love how God puts people in my path at the exact moment needed.) I stop in the middle of my frustration or impatience and remember that these little people will soon be big people, and these precious moments really will be gone. I recently re-connected with a college friend who was surprised to see I have three kids. She said, “It’s amazing how much life changes in what seems like an instant.” So true!

So, I love watching my children grow, develop and learn new things. It’s the best thing about being a mom, in my opinion. I see how they are becoming their own little selves, and it’s so fascinating! On the other hand, they grow, develop and learn new things, and the time really does go by so fast. I’ve been thinking about that often lately, as we’ve had some milestones of sorts in the last couple months.

Miss Morgan/Princess/Ballet Girl turned 3 in December!

img_4593

 img_5032

No more baby here. She’s transformed into a little girl. A fairy princess, dancing, singing, fun-loving little girl.

Our other princess, little Paige, is now 6 months old.

img_4983

img_5088

While part of me says, “Phew! We survived the first six months!” It’s still hard to believe another half-year has gone by. It seems like just yesterday Paige was still unknown to us. We weren’t sure who would be joining our family. Now, she’s a smiling little thing who is developing a sweet personality and stealing our hearts.

And then there’s our other milestone: Andrew is officially 4 1/2.

img_5125

 img_5134

This one seems to be getting me thinking the most, because if I do my math correctly, that means he will soon be 5. FIVE!!! WHAT?!? How did this happen? He can’t be on the way to age five already? I can’t be old enough to have a five-year-old! 😉 ha ha! It seems like HE was just turning 6 months old and doing all of the things his baby sister is now doing. Sigh!

I realize I have more time before he actually turns 5, and I don’t think I’m freaking out so much that anyone needs to call and check on my mental health or anything. However,  I am definitely more aware lately of how quickly time passes. I want to make sure I’m taking the time to enjoy these moments!

img_5166

img_5170

4 thoughts on “Growing Pains

  1. OK, you’ve got grandma B crying. So precious to watch my baby watch her babies grow! You are such a great mom!!!

  2. Great post! It makes me want to hurry home and hug my kids, as they do grow so fast. Your kids are too precious.

  3. Wow! I’m now wiping away tears. There’s times where time seems like it drags on, but when you look back months have gone by and our kids are growing and changing before our very eyes.

  4. Pingback: Got Ink? « From My Pen

Leave a comment